K Standard Course of Study

North Carolina: Common Core Standards & Essential Standards

On June 2, 2010, North Carolina adopted the Common Core State Standards in K-12 Mathematics and K-12 English Language Arts released by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices and the Council of Chief State School Officers. With the adoption of these state-led education standards, North Carolina is in the first group of states to embrace clear and consistent goals for learning to prepare children for success in college and work. The full Common Core standards can be viewed at www.corestandards.org.

Current Standard Course of Study: 2010-2011 School Year:

K: Arts

K: Computer and Technology Skills

K: English Language Arts

K: Guidance

K: Healthful Living

K: Information Skills

K: Mathematics

K: Second Languages

K: Science

K: Social Studies

ACRE: Accountability and Curriculum Reform Effort

North Carolina's Accountability and Curriculum Reform Effort - also known as ACRE - is the state's comprehensive initiative to redefine the Standard Course of Study for K-12 students, the student testing program and the school accountability model. In undertaking this ambitious work, North Carolina education leaders are the first in the nation to address learning standards, student tests and school accountability simultaneously. Quite simply, this is the most important and significant work of the State Board of Education and Department of Public Instruction in a generation.